North End Business Improvement Zone 2016 Annual General Meeting

Thursday, November 17th, 2016, 935 Main Street

MINUTES

<u>Present</u>: 42 attendees as per sign in sheet, including guests
<u>Guests</u>: WPS Community Police Constables Chika and Paul; Dawn Sands, Executive Director, North End Community Renewal Corporation
<u>Voters</u> (1 per business) 23 registered voting businesses

1. Networking and Dinner

The North End BIZ AGM meeting was called to order at 7:20 p.m.

2. Welcome and Introduction to the Guests and Introduction to the Board of Directors

3. <u>Motion</u>: To appoint Kerstin Warren as Minute Taker, Matt De La Lande, Seconded Brian Petrynko, Carried.

4. <u>Motion</u>: To approve the Agenda for the 2016 AGM, David Kan, Seconded Majid Chaudhary, Carried.

5. Presentations:

NECRC: Dawn Sands introduced herself as the new Executive Director at North End Community Renewal Corporation. Originally from Thompson, Manitoba, she worked as an E.D. for the Thompson Renewal Corporation. She is inspired by the similarities in the heart, energy, passion, spirit, and resiliency in the North End to Thompson and recognizes many of the same challenges. The NECRC 2016 "Five Year Plan" is currently being launched and the plan will continue to offer the Storefront Enhancement Grants as long as funding for it exists. NECRC supports a shop local policy and in it's "North End Charter" indicates that shop local supports the employ local model and strengthens the area and community. NECRC is currently advocating for more Police foot patrols and working with area groups and the City to implement the "safer livability by-laws. NECRC will work with the North End BIZ to retain current businesses and attract new businesses. NECRC is having on open house on November 30th, 1-4 p.m., 509 Selkirk Avenue.

WPS Community Police: Constables Chika and Paul are currently working together as community relations officers. They are attending in order to introduce themselves and to provide contact information should members have particular concerns. They would like to do a forum specifically with members of the North End BIZ at a future date. They are available to attend community events with 2 months lead time and the approval of their supervisor.

6. <u>Motion</u>: To approve the Minutes of the 2015 AGM, Dr. Wenchao Zheng, Seconded Brian Petrynko, Carried.

7. President's Report: Included in the 2016 AGM package; President Rob McDonald read the report to the membership. A highlight of the 2016 year was the elimination of the diamond land restriction on the East side of Main, between Sutherland and Selkirk Avenues.

8. Financial Report: The report was given by Treasurer Keith Horn. Highlights of the report were: that the North End BIZ has retained and experienced more new businesses than the previous year; that this resulted in a significant increase in the Annual Rental Value; this allowed a proposed increase in the 2017 budget, without any increase in the levy percentage; the North end BIZ's levy remains at 1.39 percent and is the second lowest in Winnipeg. The board recommends that the ARV increase be utilized in the 2017 budget for capital expenditures to expand projects. Administrative costs have remained the same.

(a) <u>Motion</u>: To approve the 2015 Audit, Matt De La Lande, Seconded Andrew Gajdamowicz, Carried.

(b) <u>Motion</u>: To appoint Holukoff Chiarella for the 2016 Audit, Andrew Gajdamowicz, Seconded Matt De La Lande, Carried.

(c) <u>Motion</u>: To Approve the proposed 2017 North End Business Improvement Zone Budget, Andy Gajdamowicz, Seconded Matt De La Lande, Carried. 1 Opposed: Brian Hnatiuk (request to be noted)

9. Report on all nomination received by November 14th, 2016: Four nomination forms were received by the deadline with the required amount of signatures. Andrew Gajdamowicz, Brian Hnatiuk, Brian Petrynko, Joe Coffey. As there are 3 positions available and four candidates election ballots were printed. Ballot scrutineers appointed were Martin Pasieczka (City of Winnipeg), Kerstin Warren (Secretary, North End BIZ), Dawn Sands (E.D. North End Community Renewal Corporation), Carolyne Caribou (Neechi Commons). The members were given instructions that one ballot per registered business, to choose up to 3 of the candidates, if more than 3 chosen the ballot is spoiled. 23 ballots were distributed to 23 registered voters, 23 ballots returned.

Election Results: The 3 new board of directors are Joe Coffey, Brian Hnatiuk, Brian Petrynko.

<u>Motion</u>: To accept the election results of the 3 new board members, Angelo Tiginagus, Seconded Andy Gajdamowicz, Carried.

<u>Motion:</u> To destroy the elections ballots, Matt De La Lande, Seconded Susan Tiginagus, Carried. The ballots were destroyed.

Motion: To Adjourn the meeting. Matt De La Lande.

The meeting adjourned at 8:22 p.m.